MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall Portsmouth on Tuesday, 17 May 2016 at 10.00 am

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Frank Jonas (in the Chair)

Councillors

Dave Ashmore Hugh Mason Simon Bosher Lee Mason Stephen Morgan Jennie Brent Gemma New Ryan Brent Yahiya Chowdhury Robert New Alicia Denny Steve Pitt Ben Dowling Stuart Potter Ken Ellcome Will Purvis John Ferrett Darren Sanders Jim Fleming Lynne Stagg David Fuller Luke Stubbs Colin Galloway Julie Swan Paul Godier Linda Symes **David Tompkins** Scott Harris

Steve Hastings Gerald Vernon-Jackson

Hannah Hockaday Steve Wemyss
Suzy Horton Matthew Winnington

Lee Hunt Rob Wood
Donna Jones Tom Wood
lan Lyon Neill Young

Leo Madden

The Lord Mayor welcomed everyone to the meeting.

31. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

It was

Proposed by Councillor Donna Jones Seconded by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson

That a vote of thanks be given to the retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress.

It was RESOLVED unanimously that the council places on record its sincere thanks to Councillor Frank Jonas and Mrs Patricia Jonas for their outstanding service to the city for a second term as Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during their year of office.

That the council expresses its great appreciation of the fine qualities which Councillor Frank Jonas has once again brought to the conduct of the business of this Council, his devotion to duty and the distinction and

2 17 May 2016

goodwill with which he carried out the many and various duties of the office of Lord Mayor.

That the Council also places on record its gratitude to Mrs Patricia Jonas who also gave her untiring support and help as Lady Mayoress to the Lord Mayor.

That this resolution be engrossed and be presented to Councillor Frank Jonas and Mrs Patricia Jonas at this ceremony.

The retiring Lord Mayor was presented with the Council's gift of an engrossed scroll which signifies the Council's appreciation of his time in office.

32. To elect the Lord Mayor for the Ensuing Municipal Year

Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson nominated Councillor David Fuller for election to the office of Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. The nomination was seconded by Councillor Donna Jones.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal which was CARRIED unanimously and he declared Councillor David Fuller duly elected Lord Mayor.

Councillor David Fuller then left the chamber with the retiring Lord Mayor to don the Lord Mayor's robes and the chain of office.

33. Investiture of the new Lady Mayoress

Mrs Patricia Jonas, the retiring Lady Mayoress, invested Mrs Leza Tremorin, the new Lady Mayoress with the chain of office, after which the new Lady Mayoress signed a document of office witnessed by the City Solicitor.

34. New Lord Mayor takes the Chair

Councillor David Fuller took the chair and thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office witnessed by the City Solicitor.

35. Presentation of the Keys of the City

The Lord Mayor received the Keys of the Fortress of Portsmouth presented to him by Major Damir Zamboni.

36. Presentation of the Portsmouth Sword

The Lord Mayor received the Portsmouth Sword presented to him by Lieutenant Commander Adrian Hopwood Royal Navy, First Lieutenant of HM Naval Base.

37. The Lord Mayor returns thanks to the Council

The Lord Mayor took this opportunity to thank members of the Council for his election and gave a short speech.

17 May 2016

38. To appoint the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing Municipal Year

Councillor Simon Bosher nominated Councillor Ken Ellcome as the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. This nomination was seconded by Councillor Steve Wemyss.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal, which was CARRIED unanimously and he declared Councillor Ken Ellcome duly elected as the Deputy Lord Mayor and he made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. This was witnessed by the City Solicitor. The Chief Executive said that Councillor Ellcome would be supported by his Deputy Lady Mayoress, Mrs Jo Ellcome. The Deputy Lady Mayoress then made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. This was witnessed by the City Solicitor.

39. Appointment of Chaplains to the City Council

The Dean of Portsmouth, the Very Reverend David Brindley and Pastor Dan Harman were appointed as Chaplains to the City Council.

40. Appointment of the New Lord Mayor Cadets

To support the Lord Mayor in his year in office, a team of cadets will be on hand. The Lord Mayor wished to show his appreciation by presenting each of them with a certificate.

The following cadets received their certificates at the meeting:-

Leading Cadet Emily Day, Cadet Sergeant Daniel Reed, Royal Marine Voluntary Cadet Corps, Albert Wassenberg, Combined Cadet Force, Cadet Sergeant Elizabeth Faulkner, Hampshire and Isle of Wight Army Cadet Force and Bethany Clark and Rose Craven, St John Ambulance.

The Lord Mayor advised that Cadet Corporal Jack Metcalfe, Air Training Corps and Able Cadet Samuel O'Donnell, Sea Cadet Corps were unable to attend today and would be presented with a certificate by the Lord Mayor at a later date.

41. Presentation of the Freedom of the City of Portsmouth

It was

Proposed by Councillor John Ferrett Seconded by Councillor Donna Jones

That Honorary Alderman Syd Rapson be formally admitted to the roll of Honorary Freemen of the City of Portsmouth. This was CARRIED unanimously. Honorary Alderman Rapson made and subscribed the Freedom of the City book witnessed by Judge Hetherington.

4 17 May 2016

RESOLVED that Honorary Alderman Syd Rapson BEM ISM be formally admitted to the roll of Honorary Freemen of the City of Portsmouth.

The Lord Mayor presented the freedom scroll to Honorary Alderman Syd Rapson who then gave a short speech of thanks.

42. Presentation of Civic Awards

A representative from the cadets brought forward the civic award badges for presentation. The Lord Mayor presented civic awards to members of the community who had been nominated for their outstanding contribution to the life of the city. The awards were presented to Jean Stanford, Mr Tom Morton, Mr Andrew Pearce and Mr David Stemp.

43. Young Person's Civic Award

A representative from the cadets brought forward the young person's civic award. Nominations for this award were made by members of Portsmouth Youth Voice (formerly known as the Youth Parliament) which represents young people in the city and strives to ensure their voices are heard by decision makers. This year the winner was Mr Peter Marcus who collected his award.

The meeting adjourned at 11.55 am, to be reconvened no earlier than 2.30 pm.
Lord Mayor